Get Experienced Attorneys On Your Side

Contact Our Team

Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic violence can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony in the state of California, depending on the gravity of the abuse or violence, the criminal history of the aggressor, if it resulted in injuries and the seriousness of the injuries. Even if the victim drops the charges or did not warrant charges, the offender can still be arrested and prosecuted for domestic violence, thereby making these types of cases particularly complex to defend. If convicted, you can face harsh penalties, such as:

  • Fines
  • Counseling
  • Community service or physical labor
  • Stay-Away order
  • No Harm, No Strike order
  • Emergency protective order (valid for 5 days)
  • Temporary restraining order (up to 3 years)
  • County jail or state prison (up to 3 years)

It is important to secure a team of knowledgeable and skilled lawyers that master the California domestic violence laws and will know how to skillfully and effectively fight to protect your rights. Let us help you in Santa Monica, Malibu, Westwood, and Venice.

Contact a Santa Monica domestic violence lawyer now if you were charged with domestic violence.